CALL 24x7: +91 987 357 9007 | +91 987 357 9011
Protected Areas of India

In addition to visa permits, some areas and places in India require a special permit. The Foreigner Act requires foreigners to obtain a Protected Area Permit to visit certain areas in India. Even Indian citizens who are not residents of that area require an Inner Line Permit to enter these places. If you plan to visit any of these areas then you must apply for a special permit well in advance at the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands - permits are issued at all FRRO's, Indian missions abroad and by Immigration Officer, Port Blair.

Arunachal Pradesh- Itanagar, Ziro, Along, Pasighat, Miao, Namdapha and Sujesa Bhalikpong are restricted areas. Permits are issued at FRRO's at Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata; Chief Immigration Officer, Chennai.

Protected Areas of Kashmir

Himachal Pradesh- Partially protected areas are Poo-Khab-Sumdho-Dhankar-Tabo, Gompa-Kaza and Orang-Dabling. Permits are issued by MHA or Government of Himachal.

Kashmir- Ministry of Home Affairs and District Magistrates of concerned districts issue the special permits for the following areas:

Nyona Sub Division

  • Leh-Upshi-Chusathang-Mahe-Puga-Tso-Moari Lake/Kozok
  • Leh-Upshi-Debring-Puga-Tso-Moari Lake/Korzok
  • Leh-Karu-Chang La-Durbuk-Tangtse-Lukung-Spanksik
  • Pangong Lake up to Spanksik

Khaltse Sub-Division (Drokahpa Area)

  • Khaltse-Dunkhar-Sroduchan
  • Hanudo-Biana-Dha

Nubra Sub Division

  • Leh-Khardung La-Khalsar-Tirit up to Panasik
  • Leh-Khardung La-Khalsar up to Hunder
  • Leh-Sabo-Digar La-Digar-Labab-Khungru Gampa-Tangar

strong>Note: Only for trekking conducted by approved tour operators and accompanied by State Police personnel

Nubra Sub Division

Lakshadweep Islands- Protected areas are Bangaram and Suheli Islands. Lakshadweep administration is the permit granting authoritie.

Manipur- Protected areas are Lohtak Lake, Imphal, Moirang INA memorial, Keibul deer sanctuary and Waithe lake Kongjam war memorial. Permit granting authorities are All India Missions Abroad, all FRRO's and MHA and State Government of Manipur.

Mizoram- Protected areas are Vairangte, Thingdawl and Aizawl. Permit granting authorities are Government of Mizoram, all FRRO's at Delhi, Mumbai and Kolkata and All India missions abroad.

Nagaland- Protected areas are: Dimapur district- all places on NH-39 enroute to Kohima

  • Kohima District
  • Mokochong District
  • Wokha District

Mizoram protected areas

Rajasthan- Protected areas are the Western side upto Indo Pak borders covering places on NH 15. The permit granting authorities are MHA and the DM concerned.

Sikkim- The partially protected areas are Gangtok, Rumtek, Phodang, Pemayangste Khecheperi, Zongri, Tsangu, Mangan, Tong, Singhik, Chungthang, Lachung and Yumthang and permits are issued at All India Missions abroad, all FRRO's and Immigration officers at Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai and Delhi airports.

Uttaranchal- Partially protected areas are Nanda Devi sanctuary, Niti Ghati and Kalindi Khal in Chamoli, Uttarkashi district and adjoining areas of Milam Glacier. The permit granting authorities are MHA, Government of Uttaranchal and DM or SDM concerned.

Get Free Tour Quote

Copyright © Hi-Life Tours & Travel 2017. All Right Reserved
Powered by SOFTTIX